CAP recognizes students for winning water research

Share this post

CAP Water Research Award Winner Kristen Whitney

Perhaps now more than ever before, Arizona needs future water leaders who perform high-quality research that benefits our future generations.

That future, it seems, is in good hands – and CAP once again has rewarded students for their excellent efforts.

Kristen Whitney recently captured the top honor in the 2022 CAP Award for Water Research for her work.

Kristen Whitley CAP Student Research Award Winner

The award recognizes excellence in graduate or undergraduate student research addressing water issues facing the lower Colorado River Basin states (Arizona, California and Nevada).

CAP offers the Award for Water Research annually to encourage and support water research by students in Arizona colleges and universities and to raise public awareness of water issues impacting central and southern Arizona and the Colorado River. Judging is conducted in a blind process by representatives of CAP’s popularly elected Board of Directors, CAP stakeholders and management, and other members of the water community. The first-place winner received $1,000 and second-place winners received $500.

Papers for the 2023 CAP Award for Water Research can be submitted any time before June 1, 2023.

Learn about the student researchers and their papers.