CAWCD Board Convenes Virtually for December 2020 Meeting

Share this post

CAWCD Board Meeting Recap

2 new Board Members and 4 returning Board Members Sworn in; Board approves 2022 Strategic Plan

The Central Arizona Water Conservation District Board of Directors (CAWCD) convened virtually today for its December 2020 board meeting. CAWCD Board President Lisa Atkins chaired the meeting from the headquarters boardroom and all other board members participated via WebEx. The public was invited to watch the livestream and to provide public comment via the Board’s online “Blue Card.” CAWCD Board meetings will be held virtually through at least March 2021, in accordance with CAP’s headquarters closure to keep employees safe and water flowing during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Vice Chief Justice Ann A. Scott Timmer, Arizona Supreme Court, virtually swore in two new Board members: Marie Pearthree (Pima County) and Stephen Miller (Pinal County), as well as three returning Pima County Board Members: Karen Cesare, Pat Jacobs and Mark Taylor. Their six-year terms begin Jan. 1, 2021. This was the last CAWCD Board meeting for Sharon Megdal (Pima County) and Jim Hartdegan (Pinal County).

The Board took the following actions:

The Board also heard staff updates regarding:

The CAWCD Board of Directors is a popularly elected, 15-member board. Ten members are from Maricopa County, four from Pima County and one from Pinal. Members serve six-year, unpaid terms. The board typically meets publicly the first Thursday of each month to establish policy and set rates and taxes for CAP.

For additional details on the December board meeting, take a look at the agenda and packet. Board minutes and video will be posted here.