Announcement: CAP Award for Water Research 2023 winners

Share this post

CAP Board honoring award for research winners

The 2023 CAP Award for Water Research winners have been announced, and winners are – a pair of Arizona State University students.

The award recognizes excellence in graduate or undergraduate student research addressing water issues facing the lower Colorado River Basin states (Arizona, California and Nevada).

“CAP’s Award for Research showcases novel research in water that impacts our state. As a science educator, I am passionate about supporting students’ pursuits to better our world with new science ideas,” CAWCD Board Member and CAP Award for Water Research judge Amanda Monize said. “These papers highlight unique challenges we face in managing the Colorado River Basin now and in the future.”

Here’s a rundown of the winning students:

Krista Lawless receiving Award for Research

Second place honors went to Krista Lawless for a paper titled “Institutional Analysis of Water Governance in the Colorado River Basin, 1922-2022”.

The Award for Water Research is intended to encourage and support water research by students in Arizona colleges and universities and to raise public awareness of water issues impacting central and southern Arizona and the Colorado River. Judging is conducted in a blind process by representatives of CAP’s popularly elected Board of Directors, CAP stakeholders and management, and other members of the water community. The first-place winner received $1,000 and second-place winners received $500.

Learn about the student researchers and their papers.