Cash awards available for top water researchers

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on print
Share on email

Responsible water management is a hot topic for many Arizona student researchers, and CAP wants to reward their efforts through its CAP Award for Water Research.

The annual award recognizes outstanding collegiate research. The first place winner will receive $1,000; and the second place winner will receive $500. Submissions for this year’s award are being accepted through June 1, 2021. Winners will be notified in the fall.

In 2020, first place honors went to Mary Samar for her Master’s thesis titled, “On the precipice of transition: Water, crops and adaptation in Pinal County, Arizona.” Second place was awarded to Riley Swanson for his Master’s thesis titled, “Quantifying the base flow of the Colorado River: its importance in sustaining perennial flow in northern Arizona and southern Utah.”

If you know some similarly-minded Arizona undergraduate or graduate students, send them this link to CAP’s Award for Research submission form. Original research submitted for this award should focus specifically on water issues that affect Central and Southern Arizona and the Colorado River. Papers can focus on legal, economic, political, environmental, or water management issues, as well as any other issue that might be of interest to CAP or Arizona water users. Priority will be given to Colorado River issues. Find more information, including research criteria, goals, partnerships and submission guidelines here.

CAP hopes the Award for Research will:

  • Encourage and support excellence in water research in Arizona’s colleges and universities
  • Reach and encourage college-level students interested in pursuing careers in water resource management Increase public interest in water issues associated with the use of Colorado River in Central and Southern Arizona
  • Reinforce CAP’s commitment to water education to hundreds of faculty members and students

For a list of suggested topics, visit the Award for Research. The online entry form can be found Award for Research Form. Questions? Contact Kelli Ramirez.