CAWCD Board Convenes Virtually with Two New Members for January 2021 Meeting

Share this post

CAWCD Board Meeting Recap

New year begins with Stephen Miller (Pinal County) and Marie Pearthree (Pima County) joining 

The Central Arizona Water Conservation District Board of Directors (CAWCD) convened virtually on Thursday, Jan. 7, 2021 for its January 2021 board meeting. CAWCD Board President Lisa Atkins chaired the meeting from the headquarters boardroom and all other board members participated via WebEx. The public was invited to watch the livestream and to provide public comment via the Board’s online “Blue Card.” CAWCD Board meetings will be held virtually through at least March 2021, in accordance with CAP’s headquarters closure to keep employees safe and water flowing during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Joining virtually for the first time were and Stephen Miller (Pinal County) and Marie Pearthree (Pima County) who were sworn in at the December Board meeting, along with three returning Pima County Board Members: Karen Cesare, Pat Jacobs and Mark Taylor. Their six-year terms began Jan. 1, 2021.

Other than approving minutes from the Dec. 3, 2020 CAWCD Board Meeting, the Board took no further action, but did hear several updates regarding:

The CAWCD Board of Directors is a popularly elected, 15-member board. Ten members are from Maricopa County, four from Pima County and one from Pinal. Members serve six-year, unpaid terms. The board typically meets publicly the first Thursday of each month to establish policy and set rates and taxes for CAP.

For additional details on the January board meeting, take a look at the agenda and packet. Board minutes and video will be posted here.