CAWCD Board Convenes by WebEx for June 2020 Meeting

Share this post

CAWCD Board Meeting Recap

Board recognizes 40th anniversary of Groundwater Management Act and approves purchase and sales agreement for long-term storage credits with the Tohono O’odham Nation

The Central Arizona Water Conservation District Board of Directors (CAWCD) convened virtually today for its June 2020 meeting. CAWCD Board President Lisa Atkins chaired the meeting from the headquarters boardroom and all other board members participated via WebEx. The public was invited to watch the livestream and to provide public comment via the Board’s online “Blue Card.”

The meeting began with a recognition of the 40th anniversary of the Groundwater Management Act, which was signed June 12, 1980. The recognition included a special video reflection from former Governor and Secretary of the Interior Bruce Babbitt.

“The Groundwater Management Act was truly historic and is intimately tied to our own history at CAP as it was instrumental in securing the federal appropriations for our completion,” said Atkins. “The Act established a comprehensive water management framework, administered by the Arizona Department of Water Resources. This has been critical to the prosperity that Arizona has enjoyed. We are proud that our renewable supply has contributed to that success and we congratulate ADWR on four decades of excellence.”

During the meeting, Atkins also requested that those contemplating system conservation projects with CAP water for 2021 share those concepts with CAP Water Policy Director Patrick Dent. CAP staff will report on these potential system conservation projects at CAWCD’s August 6 board meeting.

The Board approved a purchase and sale agreement for 50,000 long-term storage credits (LTSCs) between CAWCD and the Tohono O’odham Nation. Under the agreement, CAWCD will acquire, for use by the Central Arizona Groundwater Replenishment District (CAGRD), 40,000 LTSCs located in the Phoenix Active Management Area (AMA) and 10,000 LTSCs located in the Tucson AMA.

In addition, the Board approved several items on the Consent Agenda, including:

Staff provided updates regarding:

The CAWCD Board of Directors is a popularly elected, 15-member board. Ten members are from Maricopa County, four from Pima County and one from Pinal. Members serve six-year, unpaid terms. The board typically meets publicly the first Thursday of each month to establish policy and set rates and taxes for CAP.

For additional details on the June board meeting, take a look at the agenda and packet. Board minutes and video will be posted here.